Kliczków Castle lies on the edge of the Zgorzelec Forest, among picturesque lakes, which are the result of quartz excavation.
Kliczków Castle was erected in 1290 by Bolko the Severe. In 1391 it was passed on to the Rechenberg family who, in the second half of the 16th century, undertook conver sion of the gothic castle into a Renaissance one. Another great conversion, completely changing the appearance of the residence, took place from 1881 – 1883. After WWII the castle had several owners. A fire which broke out in 1948 completely destroyed the east and north-east wings of the castle. These were not rebuilt until 2001.
There is a conference and relaxation centre located in the castle, with seven conference rooms featuring modern equipment. The castle’s premises also feature an indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi, sauna, weight training, tennis courts and playing fields. There are likewise attractions for the youngest of guests with a playground and animal rides on the farm. While at the park you will find a cemetery for the horses and dogs of the previous owners – one of three in Europe – with original headstones.
There are several regular festivals and attractions organised at the castle. Among them are steeplechases and an annual knight’s tournament with a trophy in the shape of the castle.
OFF ROAD TOURS
Where Are We?